Queen of Pink

Loving all things pink, glittery, shiny and the list goes on

Bookalicious Tag

I read about this “tag” on Erika’s blog.  I thought I would follow along and talk about my love of books.

1. What percent of books do you get from the library and what percent do you get elsewhere?

I used to get 95% of my books from the library. I had a list of books that I wanted to read.  Every time I found a title that sounded good, I would add it to my list.  The first of the month, I would order 3-5 books from the library and wait for the call telling me they were available to pick up.  This caused a bit of a problem because I also love to go to bookstores and buy books.  However, since the library books had a due date, I would read them first and by the time I finished, the first of the next month came around and time to order more books off my list.  This year, I have made it my mission to not check out books from the library.  I am trying to read the books I already have that I haven’t read.  I am going to guess I have 100-200 books still to read.

2. What character would you want to be and why?

I think I would like to be Becky Bloomwood from Sophie Kinsella’s Shopaholic series.  I can relate to her character and the things she does when I read the books.  I am currently waiting for her newest book Shopaholic to the Stars to come out in paperback.

3. What is your favorite book from your childhood?

I have my collection of Nancy Drew books that I loved reading.  I also read the Trixie Belden books;  I still have those too.

4. What is your favorite book?

I can’t say that I have a favorite book.  I have some books that I liked better than others, but couldn’t name those off the top of my head.  My favorite author since I was about 16 is Danielle Steel.  I have all of her books, but some of those are on my to-read shelf.  Every time one comes out in paperback, it makes its way into my house.

5. Which book series do you have the most books of?

I have all of the Harry Potter books, all but the latest Shopaholics series by Sophie Kinsella, a bunch of Meg Cabot Princess Diaries books, and though not a series, I collect Nicholas Sparks and Jodi Picoult novels.

6. Do you buy used books or use swap.com?

I’ve never heard of swap.com.  I buy used and new.  I love shopping at bookstores, but Barnes and Noble is not just down the street from me.  I can’t keep away from the library book sales.  I did better at the last one I attended; I bought only books that pertained to Russia as that is the country I am trying to learn more about this year.

7. Who is your favorite/hottest guy or girl?

I don’t think I have a favorite. If I did, I am sure I could name one. 

8. What is your favorite book cover?

I do judge a book by its cover, but I can say I have a favorite cover.

9. What is your favorite type of book cover?

One that has something to do with the story.

10. What was the first book you read?

I have no idea.  I can say I loved reading The Snow Queen that my cousin, Brenda Foley, got me for my 10th birthday.

11. What is your favorite book to movie adaption?

The Notebook.  Love love love The Notebook. If I am flipping channels and it happens to be on, I will watch it.  Same goes for Pretty Woman and Dirty Dancing.

12. When did you start blogging? (original question was “When did you start making Youtube videos?”)

I started blogging, or should I say I started a blog, 4 or 5 years ago.  It wasn’t until recently that I paid more attention to it.  Last year I tried to blog about new experiences I was having.  This year I am just trying to blog about whatever interests me.

13. Where is the best place to read?

On my swing in the front yard.  It’s like my porch area where I can watch the neighborhood activities, see the birds and squirrels and just have peaceful time. In the winter, it’s my couch.

14. Have you written your own fan fiction for a book?

I have never read nor written fan fiction.  However, I did write a book for NaNoWriMo in 2013.  That would be National Novel Writing Month.

15. If you could only read 3 books for the rest of your life what would they be?

First choice off the top of my head is the Bible.  After that, it could be anything.  Maybe some type of daily devotional. Then maybe a cookbook since I would now have so much more free time I could actually start cooking more.

16. What is the longest book you have read?

Gone With The Wind. I read it in 12th grade for a book report in Ms. Robbin’s class.

17. If you were to write a book what would the title be and why?

Well, I did write a book.  I don’t have a title for it. It’s about 3 ladies who don’t know each other who win the lottery.  The kicker is that they are triplets.

18. How many books did you read last month?

I read 4 in March:

  1. Encore Provence: New Adventures in the South of France—Peter Mayle
  2. Provence A-Z—Peter Mayle
  3. Adventures in Mixed Media Art-edited by Amy Johnson
  4. The Reluctant Tuscan: How I Discovered My Inner Italian–Phil Doran

19. What is the last book you read?

See above.

20. Do you fantasize yourself in books you like?

Never have. Although while reading art books, I do fantasize about all the art I want to do.

21. What is your favorite bookstore?

I remember the days when you could go to the mall and find a bookstore or two. Ah…those were the days.  All that is left for me is Barnes and Noble which is maybe 30 minutes away in good traffic. Wait!  I forgot!  Powell’s Book Store in Portland OR. I could spend days in there lost among the stacks.

22. Hardback or paperback?

I like paperback.  Cheaper and much easier to hold and read, especially before falling asleep.

23. Do you have more than one copy of the same book?

Of course! How could you not when you still have 100-200 books to read.  Inevitably you end up buying another copy of something while at the book sales.

24. Would you rather read about vampires or werewolves?

Neither.  Although we have the Twilight books, I have not yet read them.  Ali read them and said they are good.  Remember, she is a teenager. I prefer non-fiction right now.

25. Do you own more than 150 books? if not would you?

I own at least that many still to read.  And at least that many already read.  My husband would probably say I have over a thousand books.

I was going to include pictures of my books, but I will leave that for another day.

I hope you enjoyed reading this.

March 28, 2015 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment