Queen of Pink

Loving all things pink, glittery, shiny and the list goes on

PINK-I Love It!

There is a movement within the online scrapbooking world called One Little Word, started by one of my favorite scrapbookers, Ali Edwards.  For the past few years, I have chosen a word that spoke to me in advancing my life.  Last year, it was Dare. 2013’s word was Create.  2012 was Peacock.  I didn’t go far with my words those years.  This year, I would like to change that.  My word this year is Pink.  What does pink mean?  What does it connotate?  What kinds of things are pink?  I am going to try to look at it from all angles.  I am going to envelop myself in pink.

One unfortunate circumstance is that I no longer have the queenofpink email.  We changed cable providers and it was suggested that I use gmail for email and not to be at the behest of the cable companies with my email.  queenofpink@gmail was not available.  Tears for me!  I looked into getting a website named queenofpink.com but it is already spoken for.  No one uses it, but it’s not available.  And I don’t want to pay godaddy $70 to negotiate on my behalf to get it.  Kind of a letdown because I had planned to learn how to make a website this year and declare my love of pink.  Maybe there is something better for me down the road.  God may just be delaying my plan.  When some of my friends heard of my email change, they were sad to see my queenofpink go because they found it so fitting for me.  I never had to spell it out like I do my name now.

On another note, I decided I needed some help cleaning out my garage this year.  This is the year the garage will get, at the very least, clean enough to hold a car.  I know I am not the only person in the world who doesn’t have room in their garage for a car.  I’m just the only person I know.  I thought about how I could accomplish this.  It’s cold outside in the winter in Michigan. The garage is not attached to our house.  Sometimes in snows in the winter so deep that we have to dig a path for the dog.  It’s going to be a big job and probably not one I can do in the spring/summer alone.  What if we have one of those unbearably hot summers?  I like to sparkle, but I don’t like to sweat.  One of my favorite bloggers, Elise Blaha Cripe, recently posted about a yearly calendar she created so you could work on your goal a day at a time and at the end of the year, see what you accomplished.  You can see her calendar here.   I decided to try to make my own version.  I didn’t need anything fancy.  With my calendar, I would then be able to mark off each day that I did something in the garage.  My goal is to do a little bit each day-it might be to clean out a bin stored in there; it might be to pick up some loose stuff on the ground.  It might be to organized the camping equipment.  It is my hope that the little bits done everyday in 2015 will lead to a much better organized garage.  Below is my version of the calendar.  It is just circles under each day of the month.  I had hoped to put the numbers inside the circles like Elise did, but I couldn’t figure out how to do that. I am pretty proud of what I did accomplish with the circles because I had to learn how to do those.  I printed my calendar on pink cardstock with Jan-June on one side and July-Dec on the other. Nothing fancy like Elise’s, but it will do the job for me.

20150101_223130

It is now 11:09pm in my neck of the woods. My nephew is in Michigan for a few days and was able to meet with us and the grandparents for a few hours this afternoon.  I haven’t ventured out to the garage yet on this first day of the new year.  I don’t want to “fail” before I even start, so it off to the garage I go.  Wish me luck!

Do you have a word that you choose each new year to stretch yourself?  If so, I would love to hear from you.  Just leave a comment and we can connect.  Thanks for reading my blog and for being my friend.

January 1, 2015 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment