Queen of Pink

Loving all things pink, glittery, shiny and the list goes on

With a Name Like Deadwood, What Would You Expect?

After a not-so-successful meal at the nearby Beaver Creek Saloon and Grill (note the new name), Bob and I took the gift cards given to us by his folks and headed out to try the Deadwood Bar and Grill in Novi.  We had learned that the owners of the 5 restaurants (including The Moose Preserve in Bloomfield Hills, Camp Ticonderoga in Troy, and Iroguois Club in Bloomfield Hills) are the same people who are restoring The White Horse Inn in Metamora.  We learned there were problems when they sold Beaver Creek to its new owners, thus Beaver Creek isn’t accepting any gift cards that were sold under the old owner, despite the cards being for Beaver Creek.  That’s the long story.

Anyway, we headed off on our 23rd anniversary to try to use the gift cards. Vera, my GPS system in the truck, took us to a bulding that looked very vacant.  Turns out the restaurant was a few buildings down the road.  So we arrived.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Deadwood Bar and Grill

The first thing I asked was whether they were going to take our gift cards.  Who knew when we went to Beaver Creek that we would have to confirm they would take Beaver Creek gift cards?  We weren’t going to be fooled again!

The place was actually rather cozy inside.  I love the lights hanging throughout on “tree” partitions.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI also loved this chandelier.  I am a great lover of chandeliers, much to Bob’s dismay.  He doesn’t like them.  Still, at least I have one hanging in our house in the kitchen over the sink and it gives off the greatest light!  Much better than the light that it replaced ever did give off.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I also loved (and I don’t know where the blue writing has appeared from but I will worry about that another day) this moose over the roaring fireplace.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I so loved my grandma Ole’s chicken and dumplings.  When I saw that the restaurant had chicken and dumpling soup on the menu, I decided that would hit the spot.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Wow! Look at those big chunks of chicken!   Too bad I didn’t like them very well.  Just a little note, Bella didn’t like them either when she got her doggie bag.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

And certainly not what I was expecting for a dumpling.  It tasted more like a thick noodle to me.  But maybe that’s what goes for a dumpling these days.  Not those big thick fluffy mounds of goodness that grandma made.  Yes, that is a dumpling on my spoon.  Glad I ordered a cup of soup and not the mug.

Overall, not a bad experience.  The staff was friendly.  We got a big chocolate chip cookie straight from the oven as a treat from the server.  I would go back, but not for the soup.

And here’s a little something I discovered in the restroom–this is the very first one I have ever seen tampons sitting in a decorative container on the sink counter, free for the taking if needed.  Hmmm.

Now if only I knew how to get the print black instead of blue…..

November 17, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

