Queen of Pink

Loving all things pink, glittery, shiny and the list goes on

Phone as Remote Control

If you are of my generation or older, you will remember the days when we actually had to get up off the couch and go to the TV to change the channel when we wanted to watch something else.  You could be a couch potato, but you would be one that got a little up and down action as you rose and sat and got a little walking in as you went back and forth to the TV.  Your wrist would even get a little action turning the dial.

Then new technology came around and a thing called a remote was born.  You could change channels by pointing this device at your tv.  No more exercise to change the channel.  What a great tool for those who are sick, bedridden, or otherwise unable to get up and change the channel.  Not so good for the rest of us who were learning to become a little bit lazy.

Today, I received an email for my Samsung Galaxy Note 3 that informed me I could turn my cell phone (another technological marvel) into a remote to control my TV.  Since I needed to learn something new today, I followed the steps on the webpage I was directed to and lo and behold, my phone was controlling my TV.  I had to call up the program on my phone, pick my TV brand, point the phone at the TV, press and button and voila! my TV came on.  I had to push another button to change the channel.  After pushing, I was asked if the channel changed.  If not, the phone advanced a new button to push and kept doing so until I was able to change the channel.  There is a keypad for inputting a channel number.  I can control the TV volume.  Such a handy little program.  I don’t know how much I will use it as I don’t carry my phone everywhere with me, but I know I have a back up device when the real remote starts getting temperamental on me.

So tell me, can you change your TV with your phone?  What other things can your phone do that you think is cool?

November 12, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

