Queen of Pink

Loving all things pink, glittery, shiny and the list goes on

Technology Can Be Scary

On a recent Tuesday, Bob and I headed over to Best Buy for the Samsung class.  We had all gotten new Samsung phones-I got a Samsung Galaxy Note 3-and this was a perfect opportunity to learn how to use them.  The class was an hour long and taught us the best way to connect to the internet, how to get emails from several accounts into one email flow, how to get multiple screens on the phone at once, how to move icons around, where to find certain apps (as they didn’t show up instantly on the app screen), how S Note worked, how to put writing on the back and/or the front of photos, how to take photos with special effects…just to name a few things.  Oh and I learned that my phone will speak to me if I ask it a question.  And it will tell me how to get somewhere.  I practiced by asking how to get to Famous Dave’s which was near Best Buy.  As we left the store, it started telling us how to go.  Then we would go a different direction and it would talk again.  When we went to the mall, I thought it was going to continue talking to me, but it finally gave up.  I plan to learn more and really use my phone’s capabilities, but I will do that a little at a time.

The other technological learning I did on this day was learn how to use the USAjobs.gov website. When I was a federal employee, we did all job applications on paper.  That was over 20 years ago.  Now everything seems to be online.  I found a couple jobs I was interested in applying for, but it was like pulling teeth to get me to sit down and apply.  I wasn’t sure how to upload things, I wasn’t sure if I could fill out the application in small slices of time or had to do it all at once, could I save things and come back later to add on, etc.  It seemed so overwhelming to me.  The first application I did wasn’t so bad at all.  I got the jist of how it all worked and what the various screens looked like and how to tell I had everything done and sent.  So when it came time to do the next application the next day, the process went very smoothly.  Now I am watching for other jobs to show up that I have an interest in.  We shall see how I do.

Have your tried anything new technologically lately?  This reminds me of my dad.  I tried to convince him to get a computer thinking he could do his tax work on it and also email me once in awhile.  He would always hold up his pencil and say “This is my computer.”  I loved my dad.

 

April 1, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Wow I had no idea you could do all that on a Samsung. I have a galaxy Fame which is the cheapskate little brother lol. I only just got it and it’s a running joke that I will just about learn how to do half of what it’s capable of when it gives up the ghost in about a year’s time.

    I have however been Very Bad and treated myself to a Kindle Fire HD, oh I love my kindle! Having spent years thinking ‘nah don’t need any form of ebook reader’ my partner likes them and had hankered after one so I treated her to one for her birthday, not the all singing dancing HD but the regular paperwhite because she suffers from migraines and everyone I spoke to that knows about the kindles said ‘screens too bright on the HD’ ever since I’d been thinking ‘yeah I really would like one’

    Well….seven books, five magazines and one Way Too Addictive game later I think you can safely say I love the thing!

    Happy Blogging, I always like reading your posts

    Comment by okarnill | April 2, 2014 | Reply

  2. Thank you for reading my posts. I have a kindle too. Now with the apps and all, I can read my kindle stuff on my iPad and that screen is easier on the old eyes. When I was much younger, I used to always carry a book with me. I don’t have room in my bag for a book anymore, so it is nice to have a book in the phone. However, I do much prefer reading real paper books. I supposed the kids that are growing up today will be so used to the handheld devices that they won’t miss the old style books.

    Comment by A Real Housewife in Detroit | April 2, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

