Queen of Pink

Loving all things pink, glittery, shiny and the list goes on

Make a Snow Angel

Anyone who knows me, knows that I do not like to be cold.  I like my house to be warm in winter.  I like to dress warmly.  I enjoy sitting beside my electric fireplace (it takes a lot of work to light an actual fire in the fireplace, although that is something that is on my list of things to try this year as Bob is the one who makes our fires.)  I like my warm, toasty blanket.  I like the heat on in the car during Michigan winters.

All that said, I have decided I need to learn more about the cold.  When I would take the kids sledding, I would sit in the car with the heater on and my cup of hot cocoa.  That’s all about to change.  I am going to go outside and make a snow angel.  I don’t have to do anything else outside, just make a snow angel.  Seems like such a simple task.

I put on my hoodie and put the hood on.  I put on my coat and zip it all the way to the top to cover my neck.  I have on my socks and my new snow boots.  I don’t have any snow pants, so my jeans will have to do.  All I can think about is how wet my jeans are going to get and I will have to find something else to wear when this is over.  I put on my gloves.  I am ready.  John will be my photographer today, and I have to wait for him to finish shoveling the sidewalk and driveway.  I tell him we are losing light and he can finish shoveling when I am done making a snow angel.

The time has come.  I plop down on my back and start waving my arms up and down.  I feel snow making contact with my skin at the waistband of my jeans.  It’s really not as cold as I imagined it would be.  John reminds me that I need to move my legs in and out too.  He gets a kick out my comment that the snow isn’t as cold as I thought it would be.  After I am sure John has a photo, I get up.  I am surprised that my jeans are not wet.  I won’t have to change my clothes!  I am so energized, I throw snow at John several times.  The snow is not hard enough to make snowballs, but I can make it snow on him.  Then I let Bella outside and we run back and forth on the sidewalk and play for a few minutes.

I am now done and go inside.  The worst part of the experience is the small wet spot on the small of my back where the snow got me.  At least I will be better prepared for covering that area next time I venture out in the snow to play. I learned the snow is not as cold as I imagined it to be.  While playing, I temporarily forgot about the cold.  What will I do next?

P1090337

How long has it been since you made a snow angel?

 

January 2, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

