Queen of Pink

Loving all things pink, glittery, shiny and the list goes on

Farewell Fred

We lost our cat, Fred, to a blood clot quite suddenly yesterday.  It is hard not to “see” Fred everywhere you look.  Those of us who have pets know how dear they become to us.  Each has their own quirks and personality.  One of the things Fred loved to do was hunt for socks (and if he couldn’t find them, he was quite happy discovering washcloths, underwear, t-shirts and occasionally a craft item (bag of deocorative rocks, bag of feathers)) all from the basement.   At night, you would hear his meowing noise as he brought his latest treasure up the stairs.  Some mornings, we would walk into the kitchen to find a trail of items across the floor.  Below is a photo of Fred with one of Ali’s socks.  Because I happened to be in the bedroom awake watching TV, Fred was bringing the treasure all the down the hallway to me.

Have you had a pet who had a special “act”.  I would love to hear about it.

Rest in Peace, Fred!

February 29, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

7 Comments »

  1. Didn’t see a picture of Fred!
    Our lastest cat for the first couple months or so would bring a ball of yarn in and leave it beside my bed during the night. I’m always knitting or crocheting so I guess she was helping me pick yarn. One time it was a ball I’d been looking for. Granted she may have had it hidden in the first place but she did give it to me when I still needed it.

    Comment by Lita | February 29, 2012 | Reply

  2. Lita-the picture was in the next post. Since this was the first time I have inserted a photo to my blog, I guess I didn’t do it quite right.

    Comment by A Real Housewife in Detroit | February 29, 2012 | Reply

    • Found it! IT was WAY over there.

      Comment by Lita | February 29, 2012 | Reply

  3. What a beautiful cat! RIP Fred.

    Comment by Darlene Corcoran | March 1, 2012 | Reply

  4. Aw I’m so sorry for your loss, he looks like a realy lovely cat – and what a quirky fellow too. It’s the ones with character to spare that you really bond with isn’t it. I hope your memories of him become less painful and more filled with joy as you come to terms with the loss.

    We’ve had so many animals and all with their own quirks, but the ones I especially remember are a pony – Lucky – who used to roll with her head in a bucket. She’d eat her food, then slowly sag to the ground and roll, keeping her head in the bucket at all times.

    The other is our cat Boo – sadly no longer with us, she had the off putting habit of washing out human ears, she did this with the absolute intention that no human ear near her should ever be caught with wax in it, and she’d wait till you were laying down at night, put both paws on your head to hold you down, and then proceed to wash your ear out. Many’s the time me or my partner were woken up by the other making a sound like a ringwraith ‘aaaieeeeeeaaaaaaaaaargh!’ which meant that Boo had struck!

    RIP Fred, hugs to you and your family on your loss.

    Comment by okarnill | March 1, 2012 | Reply

  5. RIP Fred 😦 I’m sorry for your loss. Rocky, our blue tabby, fetches. He especially loves super balls. He chases them down the stairs and will bring them back for you to throw again and again.

    Comment by rhondablue | March 3, 2012 | Reply

    • I’ll bet Rocky brings you lots of joy when he fetches. Have you taken any pictures of him fetching or with the super ball in his mouth? Luckily, something told me to take a picture of Fred a few months ago when he was searching for treasures and a picture of all his treasures laid across the kitchen floor the next morning. I am so glad I did!

      Comment by A Real Housewife in Detroit | March 3, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

