Queen of Pink

Loving all things pink, glittery, shiny and the list goes on

To Make Up or Not to Make Up

I was watching The Real Housewives of the OC last night when one of the gals mentioned that in the OC, you don’t even go out for coffee in sweats and no make up.  It got me to thinking how real housewives elsewhere feel. 

As for me, I used to think I couldn’t go anywhere without makeup on.  I dressed for comfort, not for fashion.  I tried to look nice, but I don’t think I was obsessive about it.  Then I had kids and a bout with cancer and I learned how to be very comfortable in my skin.  I don’t want to look like a slob, but I am who I am.  Most of the time, I have too many other things I want to do than spend extra time trying to impress people.  My friends are my friends and my family is my family and they like/love me for me.

On the other hand, I would like to once in awhile have something special to really dress up for and be glamorous.  That’s the girly girl bling-lover in me. 

What about you?  Do you have to look perfect before stepping out the door?

February 15, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. I like to look good, of course. But I’ve never been a make-up gal. My dad frowned on any make-up but lipstick in highschool and I got married shortly after. Didn’t have a make-up kinda of job so never got into it. So it’s just a little mascara and lipstick if I get prettied up for a special occasion. I did know a gal who would set her alarm before her hubby so he’d never see her without make-up.

    Comment by Lita | February 18, 2012 | Reply

    • It is interesting how each individual is. I can relate to a day when I didn’t want my husband to see me without makeup either, but I got over it. I want to look nice, but I don’t feel the need to overdo it.

      Comment by Carolyn | February 18, 2012 | Reply

  2. As I get older, I don’t always feel the need to go all out with the makeup. Sometimes I just use powder foundation, blush and lipstick. It used to be that I wouldn’t even go out and get the paper until I had all my makeup applied. However, I will NEVER wear pajama bottoms in public….NEVER!

    Comment by Kelly Hottenroth | February 28, 2012 | Reply

    • Kelly-I never thought I would go out in pajama bottoms either until Fred (the cat) was convulsing and drooling on the kitchen floor and I had to rush him to the vet. I didn’t want him to die because I had to get dressed. I picked him up and flew out the door. Unfortunately, he died anyway. But my rule of thumb is not to go out in pajama pants; they are for sleeping in! Can you imagine if we went to school in our pajamas when we were kids? Or to the skating rink? Ali might live in her pj bottoms while she is at home, but she is not allowed to leave the house that way.

      Comment by A Real Housewife in Detroit | March 7, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

